Arena plus

PVL players called up for SEAG

Eighteen players from the Premier Volleyball League have been called up to compose the Philippine Women's National Volleyball Team pool for the 31st Southeast Asian Games in May.

The Chery Tiggo quartet of reigning Open Conference MVP Jaja Santiago, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Mylene Paat, and Jasmine Nabor lead the pool.

All Premier Team members Alyssa Valdez (Best Outside Spiker) and Jia Morado (Best Setter) of Creamline; Kat Tolentino (Best Opposite Spiker) of Creamline; Ria Meneses (Best Middle Blocker) of Cignal; and Kath Arado (Best Libero) of PLDT were also called up.

Also composing the pool are Choco Mucho's Deanna Wong; Creamline's Jema Galanza; Cignal's Ces Molina; PLDT's Dell Palomata; and F2 Logistics' Kalei Mau, Dawn Macandili, Kim Dy, Iris Tolenada, and Aby Marano.

Completing the squad are Casiey Dongallo and Jelai Gajero of California Academy in Antipolo City.

"The federation approved the recommendation of the national coaching staff for the national pool where we will eventually name the final composition of the teams for the Hanoi SEA Games," said Philippine National Volleyball Federation president Tats Suzara.

Only 14 players will make the final lineup that must be finalized by March 12.

The PVL adjusted its Open Conference schedule from March 16 to April 9 to accommodate the national team's planned training camp in Brazil prior to the regional meet.

The team's head coaches are Jorge Edson Souza De Brito and Odjie Mamon. Assisting them are PLDT head coach George Pascua and Grace Rosario Antigua.
Arena plus

Latest News

Arena plus